The Seven Chakras – Exploring A Mystical Dimension of Ones Self

Updated: Feb 18

Chakras are important, and everyone should have a basic understanding of them, but there's no need to get all caught up in the terminology. How do we align ourselves? How do we vibe with it? A term that comes up in most healing classes is called "chakras". You're probably wondering what your chakras are, where to look for them, and how to unblock them.

Chakras are the energy centers located along the spine, associated with different organs, emotions, and energy functions in the body. Therefore, understanding them is a very important part of holistic medicine.


Chakras are the energy centers in the human body where the mind, body, and spirit are connected. There are seven main chakras in our bodies.

Chakras are the centers of energy in the body. They're in the body, starting at the base of your spine and running upward to the top of your head. There are seven chakras or centers within the human body corresponding to specific glands. These chakras are all very important for keeping our body healthy. Each of the seven chakras is associated with a specific spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical aspect of our being. If any of these chakras malfunctions, we can experience physical, psychological, or emotional problems. On the other hand, the conscious awareness of these energy centers and their balancing is believed to steer us to well-being and health. Therefore, one of the aims of reiki practice is to stimulate and balance the chakras within the body.

A chakra is an energetic circular center in the human body. They have a distinct location and function within the body.

The chakras are where you store the energy of the universe. Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means "wheel" and each of these seven wheels has its own power and influence on the body. By increasing the distribution of the prana to the pelvic region, you are increasing the flow of life-force energy in that area of the body. Chakras aren't working as they should when they are not aligned properly. In this case, this misalignment in the distribution results in problems with the energy.

There are many myths about the chakras. Many are based on outdated information, which makes these beliefs hard to disprove, and they prevent us from using the energy around our chakras for positive benefit. Chakras are sometimes described as whirling discs, sometimes as flower-like formations hanging from the spine, and sometimes as candy cones. The confusion exists because the eyes or any device can't see the chakras. A chakra is supposed to be a ball-shaped energy vortex. Traditional scriptures say that a chakra may be a sphere, sort of a ball. For example, Earth might be a significant chakra of our system and a minor chakra for the Milky Way galaxy.

This energy is called Prana or Vital Force Energy. It is not easy to quantify because we are all so different. However, Usha Mahesh Shankar, founder of The Cosmic Connect in Delhi, India, says that healthy prana flow provides physical and spiritual health, balances emotions, clears past life issues, and enhances intuition. It allows you to have a more intuitive experience of the divine.

By definition, a chakra is the energy center of the human body that corresponds to certain colors, elements, sounds, areas of the human body, and affirmations. By practicing meditation, you can experience a particular chakra yourself, and the best way to do so is by using colors, elements, sounds, and affirmations.

Our physical body, or soul, directly connects to the spirit world or the spiritual realms. Root, sacral, and solar plexus chakras help us navigate the physical world. Your physical chakras are your first three of the seven chakras or energy centers located along the spine that runs up the back of your body. They control your self-image and your physical and emotional identity. The lower chakras (heart, solar plexus, sacral) connect through the root chakra to the upper three, which are considered your spiritual centers.

This is the symbol representation of Muladhara / Root Chakra

Muladhara –

Root Chakra

The first chakra is our root chakra. This chakra regulates all aspects of our survival and basic life needs. It also controls the body's ability to handle physical, emotional, and spiritual stress. The base or root chakra is the first chakra that controls the body's energy center and is responsible for your overall energy level. It also regulates your immune system and influences how well you sleep. This root chakra is where your energy begins, and from this point, it's a great place to start. When your inner world is in balance, you feel safe, secure, purified, and grounded. To start practicing chakra balancing, it's important to start at the first chakra that needs to be balanced. If we don't get our priorities straight, then our whole energy system could also be misaligned from our true purpose of being here on earth.

Crystals for Root Chakra - Black Tourmaline, Garnet, Obsidian, Smoky Quartz, Red Jasper, Hematite

This is the symbol representation of Swadhisthana / Sacral Chakra

Swadhisthana -

Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is the sacral chakra associated with survival instinct, sexual energy, our need to connect with others more authentically, and creativity. When this chakra is open and clear, it creates balance in your life. You can only truly discover your inner self if you move through life with an awareness of your place within the Universe. Your ability to move with the flow reveals your connection with everything around you. Many people associate creativity with sex, but creativity does not depend on your physical or emotional sexual preferences or what you think about your sexuality. When we are in harmony with nature, we feel balanced. We are more expressive, nurturing, creative, passionate, emotionally stable, and able to 'feel'.

Crystals for Sacral Chakra - Sunstone, Carnelian, Tiger Eye, Gold Stone, Moonstone, Yellow Aventurine


Manipura –

Solar Plexus Chakra

Next comes the Solar Plexus chakra. The solar plexus is the ego center. It is associated with dealing with difficult situations, managing our anger, and maintaining emotional balance. This is the third chakra of the chakra system. The word "jewels" in Sanskrit translates to Manipura. It means the city of jewels. Your solar plexus is your power center. It gives you your life force, and it's where you create energy for yourself and others. By focusing on this chakra, you can generate more energy for yourself and others. It's in this chakra that self-awareness meets willpower. When you're in balance, you'll be reliable, strong-willed, powerful, courageous, and have confidence without dominating others.

Crystals for Solar Plexus - Citrine, Pyrite, Golden Rutilated Quartz, Cat's Eye, Amber, Yellow Calcite


Anahata –

Heart Chakra

Our heart chakra is the fourth chakra that allows us to feel love. It helps us see ourselves as worthy, connected to others, and inspired. It is sometimes called the "unstruck" chakra because it has no sound element. The heart is an important part of the intersection of physical and spiritual Chakras, where self and soul are one. Heart Chakra allows us to know what we want, even before we need it. We can use it to listen to the sound of the unstruck bell, which will let us know what we really want. Because the heart chakra is associated with the soul, it's said that the love for self is the basis of all true and unconditional love for others. This means that we must unconditionally love ourselves before loving others in a real and true way. Strengthening this chakra will help you feel more confident and powerful and help you decide when you need to stop engaging in behaviors that hinder you from living a happier and healthier life.

Crystals for Heart Chakra - Rose Quartz, Rhodochrosite, Green Aventurine, Prehnite, Amazonite, Malachite