4 Elements in Astrology

The Zodiac consists of 12 Zodiac signs, they are categorized into four elements – Fire, Earth, Air, and Water, and each of them has its defining characteristics. Many signs are similar to each other for example, Cancer and Pisces are both very compassionate and intuitive - Virgo and Capricorn are very grounded and ambitious. These associations are the signs sharing the same element. We call these groupings, Triplicities, three signs per element. When these elements are interpreted as personality traits or quality, they become important features of the delineation.

Each of the four Elements —Fire, Earth, Water, and Air — have correlations over corresponding Zodiac signs.


People with a strong fire element are passionate, spontaneous, and impulsive. They apply their energies from their heart and soul. Their emotional response is blunt, ego-driven at times, and they are full of charisma.

Fire signs: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius

Stones/Crystals: Amber, obsidian, rhodochrosite, ruby, lava rock, garnet, jasper, beryl, hematite

Planets: Sun, Mars


Those with dominant air elements are quick-witted and great communicators. They utilize their energies through information and communication. They tend to intellectualize and are objective in their view of the world around them.

Air signs: Libra, Aquarius, Gemini

Stones/Crystals: Imperial topaz, citrine, mica, aventurine, clear quartz, lepidolite

Planets: Mercury, Jupiter


People with heavily accented water elements have deep compassion and intuitive sensitivity. Their empathy shows us all that love is endless and truly is our greatest teacher. This energy can be calming like the sea or in lower vibrations, forceful and destructive like the ocean.

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces

Stones/Crystals: Aquamarine, jade, pearl, lapis lazuli, moonstone, sugilite, amethyst, rose quartz, coral

Planet: Moon, Venus


Those with a strong earth element thrive off practicality and steadily accomplish their goals. They apply themselves with persistence and patience. They are emotionally stable and can be resistant to change.

Earth signs: Capricorn, Taurus, Virgo

Planet: Saturn

Stones/Crystals: Moss agate, emerald, jet, salt, black tourmaline, agate, malachite, obsidian.

Crystals are a beautiful, smoke-free, modest way to represent all the elements in your home, office, or spiritual practices.

By gaining a deeper understanding of your astrological elements, you will expand your perception of not just your own vibes, but also who you attract and how to flow with the rest.

Love yourself, Love each other



  • YouTube
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram

© 2019-2020 Marilyn Gomez